Nevada Criminal Defense Lawyers

Weapons/Firearms Offenses


For many people, the right to bear arms is a value they hold close to their hearts. Whether you are a member of a gun rights group or not, however, owning a firearm is your right. But the state of Nevada has a right to regulate it, though, and they most certainly do.

Charged with a crime in Nevada? Please call (888) 632-5650.
call_now

There are so many laws regarding firearms and weapons that people don’t even know they are breaking the law sometimes. And because the laws vary from state to state, you may find yourself having to make major adjustments when moving or even traveling.

Whether you knew you were breaking the law or not, if you are facing gun charges, you have every right to be scared. Because guns are seen as the cause of many accidents and violence, the courts take these kind of criminal offenses very seriously.

Discharging Firearm in Public

If you are accused of firing a weapon in any public place or on a public roadway, you can face this serious charge. In order for the charge to “stick” the prosecution must prove you acted maliciously, wantonly, or negligently. This means that you could be found guilty even if you didn’t intend to fire.

Discharging a firearm in public is considered a misdemeanor and carries a potential 6 month jail sentence and fines reaching $1,000.

Ref: NRS §202.280

Aiming a Weapon at Another

You can also be charged for aiming a weapon at another person. This charge is valid whether or not the weapon was loaded. Yes, even if you were joking around with an unloaded weapon, you can face this charge.

This offense also applies to discharging a firearm where someone could be endangered.

It is considered a gross misdemeanor and carries a potential year in jail and $2,000 in fines.

Ref: NRS §202.290

Drawing a Weapon in a Threatening Manner

If you exhibit or draw a firearm, knife, or other deadly weapon in a threatening manner, you could be charged with this offense. It is a misdemeanor and carries a potential 6 month jail sentence.

This charge does not apply in circumstances of self defense.

Ref: NRS §202.320

Possession of a Gun While Under the Influence

If you have been drinking or using drugs and are in possession of a firearm, you could face this additional charge. The law states that your blood alcohol content must be over .10% or that the alcohol has rendered you incapable of safely handling the firearm,

In general, this offense is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months in jail and fines reaching $1,000.

Ref: NRS §202.257

Possession of a Short Barreled Rifle or Shotgun

Short-barreled weapons, commonly referred to as being “sawed off” are not legal to own in the state of Nevada. In the case of a shotgun the barrel must be longer than 18 inches and with a rifle more than 16 inches in order for them to be considered legal.

If you are found to be in possession of one of these firearms that doesn’t meet the length requirement, you will face Class D felony charges. A felony of this magnitude carries 1 to 4 years in prison.

Ref: NRS § 202.275

Altering or Removing Serial Numbers

The serial numbers on a weapon are used to track them throughout their life. They are legally protected. If you are accused of altering the serial numbers, defacing them, or removing them, you could be charged with a Class C felony and sentenced to a potential 1-5 years in prison.

If you are found in possession of a weapon with the number removed, defaced, or altered but there is no reason to believe that you did the changing, you could face Class D felony charges and 1-4 years behind bars.

Ref: NRS §202.277

These are just a few of the weapons offenses that exist under Nevada law. Whether you are facing one of these or another gun charge, I can help.

Contact our offices today to discuss your case and the options that are available to you.