Nevada Criminal Defense Lawyers

Suspended License


They say you don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone. And sometimes, you don’t even know it’s gone until you are pulled over by the police and are suddenly accused of a criminal offense of driving on a suspended license.

Charged with a crime in Nevada? Please call (888) 632-5650.
call_now

Living with a suspended or revoked driver’s license can be a real headache. And facing criminal charges for driving with a suspended license is another problem I know you don’t need.

It’s difficult to get by, living day to day life without driving privileges. When you have to get to and from work without a license you are forced to rely on other people.

Although for many, people, they don’t even know that their driver’s license has been suspended until told by the police. Unfortunately, not knowing is not a sufficient defense by itself.

Whatever happened that resulted in this charge, whether it was your fault or not, you need to know that driving on a suspended license is a serious charge under Nevada law.

But there is a good chance we can help.

Nevada Driver’s License Suspension – Reasons

Your driver’s license can be taken for a multitude of reasons. You may have lost your license for any of the following:

  • Failure to pay child support
  • Reckless/Aggressive driving offenses
  • DUI
  • Accumulation of points

It doesn’t matter why it was taken, but only that it was.

The charge you face for driving while your license was suspended can be very serious.

And it’s a problem you can’t hide from, now that you know about it.

Nevada Driving on a Suspended License – Penalties

You may be sentenced to serve 30 days to 6 months in jail with no chance of probation. You will also have to pay fines reaching $1,000.

Alternatively, you could be placed on house arrest for 60 days to 6 months.

Your sentence for driving on a suspended or revoked license cannot be suspended. In other words, you will not get probation for this offense.

However, if you are sentenced to serve jail time, the judge could elect to allow you to serve it “intermittently” or on weekends. If it looks like you will have to go to jail, we can discuss this option and seek weekend jail time so as not to interfere with your job and weekly obligations.

Ref: NRS§483.560

As you can see, the Nevada courts take driving on a suspended license very seriously. This is because the suspended license was ordered by the court for some sort of violation or wrongdoing. Ignoring this sanction is seen as a total disrespect to the system.

If you’re facing charges of driving on a suspended license, contact our attorneys today for some legal advice, and find out for yourself what your options are, and how we can help.