Nevada Criminal Defense Lawyers

Hit and Run Charge


Being charged with a failure to stop at the scene of an accident, better known as hit and run, is very serious. We are all capable of making mistakes—particularly when adrenaline is high. If you’re facing charges like this, you need someone in your corner looking out for your best interests.

Charged with a crime in Nevada? Please call (888) 632-5650.
call_now

The moment you are involved in an accident, your heart rate goes through the roof and your body experiences an adrenaline “dump”. Decisions you make in those few moments are crucial, though subject to be clouded by panic and stress.

Perhaps you were scared because you have a suspended license or a lapse in insurance. Leaving the scene of an accident will bring about far more serious repercussions, though. Now you are facing charges of hit and run and likely rethinking your logic in those moments following the accident.

Duty to Stop

Following an accident, you are legally required to stop. You are also required to share your name, contact information, and any insurance information with the other driver. If someone is injured, you are required to render what assistance you can, even if it’s just calling the ambulance.

Failure to stop and perform any of these legal requirements can land you with a criminal charge.

Nevada Accidents Involving Property Damage Only

If no one was hurt and it seems the only damage was experienced by the vehicles, you can be charged with a misdemeanor charge. This carries the potential for several months in prison and fines.

Nevada Accidents Involving Injury or Death

If you leave the scene of an accident where someone is hurt as a result, you will be charged with a Class B felony. The potential sentence for felony hit & run in Nevada is 2 to 15 years in prison and fines reaching $5,000.

Vehicle Impoundment Following Accident

Perhaps you did stop after the accident only to have your vehicle impounded. This can occur when your license is suspended or registration revoked without you turning in your plates. If you are found driving with suspended registration or plates, your vehicle can be immediately impounded.

Typically, you won’t be able to get your vehicle back until your registration is reinstated and all towing/impoundment costs are paid.

Ref: NRS §484E

When facing any of these charges, you are likely to be under a world of stress. There are many reasons that you may have left the scene. However, not many are legal justifications that the court will just go along with.

A Nevada criminal defense attorney representing you will protect your rights under the law, and present your case in the best light, to fight for the best outcome for you.

Contact our attorneys today to discuss the specifics of your case and we can give you some legal advice and additional information about your options to defend against a hit and run accident criminal charge.