Nevada Criminal Defense Lawyers

Harassment / Stalking

Under Nevada law, both Harassment and Stalking are serious criminal charges.. They are often cases wrought with emotions as the accused and the alleged victim typically know each other. When facing charges of this magnitude, you need an aggressive defense lawyer on your side.

Charged with a crime in Nevada? Please call (888) 632-5650.

Stalking crimes didn’t get written until the 1980s in most cases and originally came about to protect celebrities from crazed fans. Now, however, stalking charges are most often applied to regular people like you and I.

You may not have even realized you were breaking the law. Perhaps you were going through a messy breakup or just trying to show your interest. Whatever the case, I can help. Contact me today to discuss the charges against you.

Nevada Harassment Laws

You can face harassment charges if you are accused of threatening someone and putting them in reasonable fear that you will carry out the threat to:

  1. Cause bodily injury to the alleged victim or another person,
  2. Cause physical damage to someone’s property,
  3. Confine another person or keep them restrained, or
  4. Do any act to harm another person, whether physically or mentally.

The first time you face a harassment charge, you will be charged with a misdemeanor. Misdemeanor harassment carries a potential 6 month jail sentence.

If you have faced harassment charges before, you will face gross misdemeanor charges, which carry up to one year in jail.

Nevada Stalking Laws & Penalties

Stalking isn’t just an act that happens one time. It involves what the law calls a “course of conduct”. This means it is a repeated pattern of behavior. If you feel as if you didn’t show a pattern in your behavior, we may be able to argue that point in court.

Typically, stalking involves a pattern that would cause a reasonable person to feel terror, fear, intimidation, harassment, or fearful for the safety of someone close to them and it actually causes such fear or intimidation.

In general, a first offense of stalking is considered a misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 6 months in jail. If this isn’t your first stalking violation, you could be facing gross misdemeanor charges and up to 12 months in jail.

Stalking with the Use of Technological Distribution

If you commit general stalking as defined above and use the Internet including social media platforms like facebook, myspace, blogs, email, or text message to disseminate or display information about the alleged victim that increases the risk of harm or violence to them, you could face Class C felony charges.

A Class C felony carries a potential 1 to 5 years in prison.

Aggravated Stalking

If you are accused of stalking as defined above and you are also believed to have actually threatened the alleged victim with intent to cause them fear of bodily harm or death, you could face a felony charge of aggravated stalking.

Aggravated stalking is a Class B felony and carries with it a potential sentence of 2 to 15 years in prison and $5,000 in fines.

Ref: NRS §200.571, 575