Drug Possession – Marijuana
The state of Nevada legalized marijuana by ballot initiative in 2016, and possession of weed became officially legal on January 1, 2017.
But not everything is legal, and it is still not legal to buy it, and it is definitely a still crime to sell it. If you are charged with a criminal marijuana offense in Nevada, you need to take the charges seriously and contact a defense lawyer immediately.
In Nevada, the drug laws are some of the harshest in the country, this includes marijuana laws. While many people are caught with the drug on an annual basis, the state and law enforcement strive to keep the “problem” under control by prosecuting offenders to the fullest extent of the law.
Nevada Marijuana Possession Penalties
The penalty you face for possessing marijuana under Nevada law depends on the amount and your age. Yes, Nevada prosecutes adults over 21 years old differently than adults between the ages of 18 and 21 when it comes to marijuana.
Possession of less than 1 ounce of Marijuana, 21 years and older
|1st offense||Misdemeanor||Treatment||Fines up to $600|
|2nd offense||Misdemeanor||Treatment||Up to $1,000|
|3rd offense||Gross Misdemeanor||Up to 1 year in jail||Up to $2,000|
|4th offense||Class E Felony||1 to 4 years||Up to $5,000|
If you are under the age of 21 and charged with possessing less than one ounce, you will face Class E felony charges. This charge carries 1 to 4 years in prison, though you will likely get probation for your first offense.
If you are charged with possessing more than one ounce, you will be charged according to typical controlled substances offenses. Marijuana is a Schedule I drug and considered one of the most serious. See my “Drug Possession” page for more information.
Ref: NRS §453.336
Nevada Distribution of Marijuana Penalties
If you are charged with distributing or possessing marijuana with the intent to distribute, you will face felony charges. The seriousness of your charge depends on the amount of pot you are caught with and your criminal history. For less than 100 pounds, you could be facing as many as 15 years behind bars.
Ref: NRS §453.339
When it comes to marijuana, many people think they will get off easy. While some marijuana offenses are less serious than those associated with other drugs, the penalties are still harsh and can put you behind bars.
Don’t take your marijuana charges lightly. Contact me today for a free consultation and to discuss exactly what you’re up against. We can talk about the evidence against you and the best ways to move forward.