Nevada Criminal Defense Lawyers

Domestic Violence


Being charged with a crime can be life changing. A domestic violence charge has the potential to be a huge turning point in your life, potentially pushing people away and sending you to jail. If you are facing charges of domestic battery or assault, an aggressive defense attorney is crucial.

Charged with a crime in Nevada? Please call (888) 632-5650.
call_now

Many crimes can be included under the legal heading of “domestic violence”. According to Nevada law, domestic violence does not have to occur between spouses; the term can apply to people in any of these relationships:

  • Spouses/Ex-spouses
  • Roomates
  • Boyfriend/Girlfriend (or exes)
  • Any blood relative
  • Any relative by marriage
  • Someone who shares a child with you

Ref: NRS §33.018

Likewise, there are many offenses that can be considered domestic in nature. While battery and similar charges seem to be the ones we hear about most, any of the following crimes can be considered a domestic violence charge if they are committed with the intent to harass or harm the other person:

  • Assault/ Battery
  • Stalking
  • Arson
  • Larceny
  • Destruction of property
  • Carrying a concealed weapon without a permit
  • Entry into another person’s property
  • Injuring or killing an animal

dRef: NRS §33.018

What Makes a Domestic Charge in Nevada Different?’

If a criminal offense is categorized as a domestic violence incident, the penalties can be different. A domestic violence charge is what’s referred to as an enhancement. This means that there will be additional penalties above and beyond what is typically prescribed for that crime.

For instance, misdemeanor battery is one of the only misdemeanors that the police can make an immediate arrest for, without a warrant. When the incident is fresh, the suspected aggressor will be held in jail for 12 hours to allow the situation to calm down.

Also, with domestic violence cases, there are typically protection orders to deal with. These are designed to protect the alleged victim and can lead to additional criminal charges if violated.

Although there are many crimes and penalties applicable to domestic violence, battery remains the most common.

Nevada Domestic Battery Laws & Penalties

This offense is defined as any unlawful use of force or violence upon someone with whom you share a “domestic” relationship. The penalty and classification of charges you face for domestic battery depend on your criminal record.

First Offense: Your first charge of domestic battery is a misdemeanor and can carry 2 days to 6 months in jail, 48 to 120 hours of community service, and fines reaching between $200 and $1,000.

Second Offense: If you are charged with domestic battery and it is your second such offense within a 7 year period, you will be charged with a misdemeanor that carries 10 days to 6 months in jail, 100 to 200 hours of community service and fines no less than $500 and up to $1,000.

Third and Subsequent Offenses: If this is the third or greater domestic battery charge against you, you will face Class C felony charges. Class C felonies are punishable by 1 to 5 years in prison and $10,000 in fines.

Ref: NRS §200.485

In addition to the penalties subscribed by law, you will likely be required to attend some sort of counseling or anger management for your domestic violence charges.

Facing serious criminal charges like domestic battery shouldn’t be done without an aggressive advocate on your side. When you are accused of hurting someone close to you, the last thing you need is added stress.

Contact our attorneys today for some legal advice and  a consultation on your domestic case.